Sahalee Country Club Named Site of the 2016 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship

NEW YORK, June 13, 2015 – Sahalee Country Club, located in Sammamish, Washington, has been named the site of the 2016 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, marking the first time this major championship will be played in the Pacific Northwest. The Championship, contested June 9-12, 2016, is a collaboration between the PGA of America, LPGA and KPMG, and focuses on the development, advancement and empowerment of women on and off the golf course.

Sahalee Country Club, site of the 1998 PGA Championship and the 2010 U.S. Senior Open, becomes the second Washington state site to host a U.S. women’s major, following the inaugural U.S. Women’s Open in 1946, in Spokane.

“The tremendous success of our inaugural effort at Westchester Country Club further builds on KPMG’s commitment to expanding opportunities for women on and off the golf course,” said KPMG Global Chairman John Veihmeyer. “With the PGA of America and LPGA, we are proud to take the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship to Sahalee Country Club—a site that has previously hosted major championships on the men’s tour and that will keep elevating the caliber of courses for the world’s best women golfers. At the KPMG Women’s Leadership Summit, which will be held on-site the day before the start of the Championship, we will continue our focus on inspiring new generations of women leaders to advance into the C-suite.”

The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, broadcast in partnership with NBC and Golf Channel, brings together a world-class, annual major golf championship with a women’s leadership summit and an ongoing charitable initiative to inspire and develop new generations of female leaders.

“The PGA of America is excited about partnering with KPMG and the LPGA in taking this Championship to some of the finest venues in the country and bringing new audiences into supporting women in golf,” said PGA of America President Derek Sprague. “Sahalee Country Club has a proven record of excellence in hosting major championships and we anticipate that it will be a spectacular setting for spectators as well as millions of viewers worldwide.”

The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship field of 156 will include the top eight finishers from the previous year’s LPGA Teaching & Club Professional National Championship, including PGA of America women members if they rank among the eight positions.

“One of the key pieces of our collaboration with KPMG and the PGA of America was the commitment to bringing this Championship to world-class venues, and Sahalee Country Club will provide a great major championship test for our players,” said LPGA Commissioner Michael Whan. “The Pacific Northwest has always been a strong supporter of the LPGA and we are excited to bring the Tour back to Seattle for the first time since 1999.”

Designed by Ted Robinson in 1969 and renovated by Rees Jones in 1996, Sahalee Country Club takes its name after the Chinook phrase, “High Heavenly Ground.” The par-72 layout was carved out of the tall majestic Cedar and Douglas Fir native to the Pacific Northwest and is consistently ranked among America’s greatest courses. It will play to 6,692 yards in the 2016 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship.

“Sahalee is thrilled with the opportunity to partner with KPMG, the PGA of America and the LPGA to host another PGA Major Championship,” said Sahalee Country Club President Steve Oaks. “Sahalee has a longstanding relationship with the PGA of America and we are honored to be selected from among the finest golf venues to host a Championship, which is consistent with our club’s mission. When we learned of the PGA of America’s plan to couple this Major Championship with the women’s leadership summit, we were eager to be a part of this innovative Championship.”

The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship continues the rich tradition of the LPGA Championship, and celebrated its 2015 Championship this week at the Westchester Country Club in Harrison, New York. The Championship, offering a purse of $3.5 million, is operated by the PGA of America in close collaboration with the LPGA.

The LPGA Championship began in 1955, five years after the birth of the Ladies Professional Golf Association. Past champions include legendary players Mickey Wright, Betsy Rawls, Kathy Whitworth, Nancy Lopez, Juli Inkster, Annika Sorenstam, Se Ri Pak and Inbee Park.